top of page

The Masquerade



BY DR. Bwalya Chalwe

My life before Christ , I lived a life full of regrets and mistakes. Lots of should have's n what could have beens. I did it so much that the present passed me by and became a could have. To me I had no present, no chance to change cause I was trapped in a prison of my past.

I wanted a new life a do over, erasing all my mistakes. Just being a totally different person. Every new year i told myself this time it will be different but a few months later be so deep in depression because i had failed to maintain the change again. So you can imagine when I got saved and realised I have a new life. Smh I did everything... I was so tired of being rejected and I figured if I do everything that's asked of me I'll be accepted and never have to be rejected again.

I had to please God even to the extreme. The latter kills but the spirit gives life. I followed the word of God without understanding the heart of God.

I did not want to make a mistake and be kicked out.( I have no idea what made me think like this ) I couldn't go back to my old life of isolation,depression, suicidal thoughts and attempts. If it meant making a fool of myself, so be it. Everything had to be perfect, I was going to be miss goody two shoes and nobody would mess this up for me. I would go to everything organised at church, attended every lecture for classes, every meeting, every service, prayer meeting etc. Its a good thing to do all this but I had a bad motive FEAR. Fear of missing out, being disobedient and getting punished, failure,being left behind and all sorts of fear.

You can imagine the amount of damage I left everywhere I went. The number of people I hurt. Most of whom were so close to me, all in a quest to be approved but by whom? I didn't realise that all this time I was thinking I'm trying to please God but I was trying to please the people around me.

The rejection I had experienced was rooted so deep it managed to masquerade itself even in my new life...

The fear of man puts a man in the position that's only to be filled by God and its a trap. I did all these things godly things and still didn't feel free. Why? Because the reason I was doing them was to be approved by man, not God. I wanted to be applauded.

I didn't know that but now I do. And I've made it my mission to only worship God and God alone.

I had some how twisted The truth by believing a lie about who God is.

The truth that he is a good father who loved me even when I was still a sinner. That he didn't love me just because I was changing but that in my current state he loves me. The truth that he accepts me as I am and that should be more important to me than any person's approval.

He knew I needed time to get rid of old habits and ways of thinking that had caused me pain but I wanted a quick fix like an addict. Something that would make me suddenly change.

I now know that he likes to take his time and cleanse every part leaving no stone unturned, no door unopened. But I had to trust him first and not do things in my own strength.

Proverbs 29:25

i thank Him for the transformation and His power that is working me.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Blog Daily....

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page