top of page

wedding preps



part II Choosing a date



My husband and 1 choose a date a few months after we started dating.

You need to understand that my now husband (Joshua) is  a straightforward person, a person with purpose and vision.  He did not ask me to be his girlfriend, neither did he say "let's see how things will go".



Nahh. This was the proposal;

"I'd love you to be my woman and my future wife"

(Not exact words but that was the message)

😂😂😅 I can laugh about it now but trust me, that freaked me out.


I didn't wanna get married, well, I was very skeptical about this whole marriage thing.( story for another day).

But when I heard this, I realised, that's what I have been praying for. For someone serious, someone who's mad is made up. You see, living in uncertainty especially with things that involve matters of the heart has not worked for me.



Previously, I was in a situationship 😂. I did not know whether I was valued or needed,one minute they give you hope, the next min they go mute on you..but you know how that left me feeling? INSECURE!! I always asked questions like, "am I not good enough?" "What am I doing wrong?" Etc

I was so done with that.

I needed someone serious or I was ready to go the PAUL way if you know what I mean.



Annnnyway, after he proposed, he added on to say, "I'd like our wedding to to be this time next year (October 27th, 2019)😲.

I tried to keep my cool.. spoiler alert, we did not get married on that day..


Choosing a date involves ALOT of factors, well, it did for us. like;

1. You MUST BOTH agree on the date. Don't not impose it on your friend.

2. How long would it take for us to accumulate enough money for the events?

3. How soon can we organize the families to be on board?

4. Family introduction.. especially if they don't live in the same town or province

5. Traditional activities

6. Period in which the bride price will be paid

7. How ready BOTH families are .

8. What events and how many you agree on having on that particular day.

9. How close or far apart you do yo u prefer the traditional events and ceremony to be.

10. PEOPLE'S OPINIONS

11. Most importantly, when God wants it to be.

Its YOUR wedding and YOUR marriage,  however everyone seems to have a say in the events leading to it. My advice, listen to the advise of the important people and choose whether to take it or not.


Most people just like what is convenient for them and what suits them, if you are moved by the wind, you will never have that ceremony.



We moved our dates 3 times..

27th October, 2019

1st March, 2020

FINALLY- 10th may,2020..


With so much opinions and opposition, we stuck to the 10th no matter what.  We parlayed about it, we had peace and we went for it.

If God said it, stick to it.!!


You will hear comments like, "just postpone, they are you rushing? it's just marriage , you will find it."


My sister/brother, your grace is not my own. Stay in your lane.


Mind you, that's the season you will be celebrating every year. Choose wisely. 

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Blog Daily....

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page