top of page

oh! Thanks to God..

BY MOLIEHI.J. NTSENYI



psalm 107:1-2 NKJV

"Oh give thanks to the Lord, for He is good! For His mercy endures forever. Let the redeemed of the Lord say so, Whom He has redeemed from the hand of the enemy."


A few years back, I was in my home country Lesotho during a winter break. I had a letter from school that would enable to go to the hospital for clinical exposure. I was excited about the experience I would get during this time.


I woke up early on Monday morning to go and meet the hospital superintendent and place my request. I met her secretary who told her boss was on leave and that the right procedure would be to get permission from the Director General of Health Services at the Ministry Headquarters first anyway.


I walked to the DG's office (her office building is a walking distance right across the road). I met a warm lady who was very excited that I wanted to spend my holiday at the hospital instead of "resting". She made a small note on the letter saying permission granted with her Dr's handwriting (we all know most doctors hand writings are hard to decipher).


I walked back to the hospital with so much joy in my heart! What I thought would take days happened in minutes. I said a little prayer in my heart and tried to contain my happiness so I don't walk around smiling by myself and looking weird.


I left the letter with the secretary who said I'll receive a call once the Suprintendent approves. I had mixed feelings about this; will she really call? Then I remembered how quickly the DG signed and I chose to believe that the same speed will work here.

A few days later I got a call. I met the acting Suprintendent who told said "This is not a teaching hospital, but we'll give you a chance. So tell me what do you know?"

My heart started pounding. Is this an impromptu quiz? Holy Spirit help me, NOW!!! I told him the subjects I had done at time. He mockingly said you're a scientist then, not a Doctor. Doctors touch patients! After a seemingly long and unending session of mockery, he took to the department of pediatrics.


I was introduced to the Head of department who listened carefully. She then asked me what I call "the Jesus question"; I heard what was said but WHAT DO YOU WANT?

I got excited,nervous and blank all at the same time. I told her I wanted to learn the basics of pediatrics in the ward.


I acquired clinical skills and I was taught how to do an ECG and interpret it. (Might I add that this I hadn't been taught in theory class as yet. Needless to say, our prayer was uttered again: Holy Ghost help me NOW!!!) Those in the medical field will acknowledge that this is one of the trickiest procedures to do, let alone analysis of results. A few months later, I was in charge of ECG! (A mere student)All these tests were now run by me without supervision. Look at God! I saw Ephesians 3:20 manifest right in front of me.


Through this experience I learnt that God can do anything through us if we give Him a chance. Shalom!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Just a quick reminder

A good woman is hard to find, and worth far more than diamonds. Her husband trusts her without reserve, and never has reason to regret...

Comments


Blog Daily....

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page