top of page

Modesty; in speech.



Colossians 4:6

“Let your speech always be with grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how you ought to answer each person.”

The tongue is a very small organ and does not consist of bone, but it has the ability to break a heart.

We all stumble in our speech. James says “if anyone doses not stumble in their speech, he is a perfect man.” Last time I checked, no one is perfect. I had always used by tongue as a defence and offense mechanism. I talked a lot. Everyone complained about me not having a filter on my mouth. For me, it was a compliment because no one messed with me or the people close to me. Every time someone close to me was bullied or offended, they’d call me to their rescue.

What I did not know was that whatever I let out of my mouth was a seed being sawn into that person’s life. I planted bad seeds. Seeds of low self esteem, failure, depression, infertility, death…. You get the drift. I only realised this later on in life. Oh how I wish someone would have told me how foolish and evil I was, it would have saved me and the victims and a lot of hours of repentance.

You see, we ladies have the ability to build up or tear down a man with our speech. Unfortunately, we tend to tear down more than build. One time, I took a savy among my male friends and acquaintances. I wanted to find out what type of woman they’d like to enter a courtship with and later get married to. I also inquired on their deal breakers. Almost everyone said a loud talkative woman is a deal breaker. One who cannot control their speech and its contents is a put off. Daughter, watch the words you realise, you might just chase away the best things that would have happened to you. May the Lord deliver us from ourselves!

Proverbs 18:6-7

“A fool’s lips walk into a fight and his month invites a beating. A fool’s month is his ruin, and his lips are a snare to his soul.”

Proverbs 21:9, 23

“It is better to live in a corner of the housetop than in a house shared with a quarrelsome wife.”

“Whoever keeps his mouth and his tongue keeps himself out of trouble.”

Be careful how you speak and the words you use. Express humility through your speech. Remember you are always responsible for what you say no matter how you feel.

prayer:

Lord, guard my tongue and my lips. May your words only come out of my lips. may my lips bless everyone around me.

in Jesus' name,

Amen!

God bless you.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Just a quick reminder

A good woman is hard to find, and worth far more than diamonds. Her husband trusts her without reserve, and never has reason to regret...

Comments


Blog Daily....

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page